Posted by: saabnuts | December 21, 2015

Need more Saabs!

Well, we don’t NEED more Saabs, but it feels that way.

Below, view of our driveway circa 2013

2013a

The car closer to camera was “Woody”, the “evil” Saab, only Saab we ever owned that was not a thoroughly enjoyable experience, simply because it was not well maintained and “loved” like our other Saabs. “Red”, the twin 2002 which we sold yesterday is at the bottom of driveway, and the noisy little Scion driving by our home has nothing to do with us.

Below, a view from earlier this year, Mr. Red at bottom of driveway and “Brownie”, our Javamet 2011 foreground.

2013

Why am I posting boring photos of our driveway?

today

Above is the view of driveway today after my wife took our blue 2009 Saab 9-3X to work.

No cars in the driveway, most important, no Saab.

Woody, the problematic 2002 Saab we owned was perhaps the only Saab we ever sold that we weren’t sad to see go.

But since 1999, we have had at least 1 Saab outside in the driveway, and 2 in the garage.

At one time is was our 1994 900SE Turbo sitting in the driveway, or the 1993 900 Turbo, but since 2007, it was “red” our trusty and trusted 2002 9-3 SE Turbo among them, staring at me, begging to go for a ride (ok it’s all in my head, I was the one who wanted to go for a ride).

And now? No Saabs to be seen.

We both miss seeing the gorgeous 1978 99 Turbo in the garage as well driving that machine.

…and I miss “red” already too.

I wonder about things and remember having neighbors ask, do you work for Saab? Seeing all of the Saabs here over the years.

My favorite stupid question? “You like Saabs?”, asked by more people than you might think when they saw 1 or 2 outside and perhaps 2 more in the garage.

No, I hate them, that’s why we own so many. (sarcasm, I never said that to anyone).

In some strange and perhaps foolish way, the cars defined who I am, who we are.

With one fewer, it feels like I’ve lost a part of myself and had to raise a white flag, giving up our battle to help make Saab a success, even though they already went bankrupt, and came back from the dead a few times, over the years.

I have loved these cars since before I was legal to drive, that’s quite a chunk of time.

Seeing “red” gone and being reminded at least as of now we can’t go buy a new Saab, is just depressing in a way.

…and as if to protest missing its driveway mate this morning, our blue 2009 9-3X had a little brain malfunction of sorts and did not want to get our of Park. Perhaps the blue car knew I did not want a completely empty driveway today (I am of course joking).

Oh, the ridiculous things that bother me.

But I am and always will be one of the biggest fans of these cars and the people who built them so well for so many decades.

On a less morose note, I received a text with picture our dedicated, talented and kind Saab Master Tech yesterday.

We gave him “Red’s” car cover purchased to keep red safe in 2005, and our mechanic is using that cover to protect his gorgeous 1997+/- 900 Turbo which is beyond modified into the realm of Saab rally / race cars.

Picture below, it did my heart good to see the car cover put to good use.

P.S. I love that poster on the garage wall (below) with caption “A Saab forever”.

It beats my “parking for white Saab 900 turbos ONLY” sticker from 1994 which still adorns our garage wall, from when we had the white 1993 and 1994 Saab 900 Turbos.

Perhaps I’m not the only one who caught the bug and has a bit of Saab fever. 😉

car cover smaller

Leave a Reply

Categories