Posted by: saabnuts | June 27, 2012

Why am I so worried now?

Upsidedown Saab

Upside down Saab from Hemmings

Oh my goodness, I remembered to cite the source of a photo! (above).  I hope it is ok to use here without specific permission.

I hate to show a Saab turtle-backed, but I was thinking of something along the lines of a stuck car being “belly up” on the side of the road.  If it upsets you (as it does me) to see a Saab car upside down, think of it along the lines of that incredible safety built into every Saab car and the strength of the roof being demonstrated.

Remember, just like the car above, Saab is not dead, it’s just sleeping or resting.  It will “right” itself and soon I hope.  Again, no offense intended to any former Saab employee or aficionado who happens across this post. I want to see cars roll out of Trollhattan again… and right side up!

OK, photo stuff out of the way and onward to my topic.

None of our Saabs have been causing us trouble and continue to run well.  But since the Bankruptcy of Saab and some folks having trouble obtaining parts, I find myself worried about the possibility of getting stuck and not being able to obtain parts.

This fear came to the front of brain even more so when reading an entertaining post from Swade of Swadeology about his experience purchasing a Subaru Brumby and getting back to his home with a leaking water pump.

Is it because I thought of someone half way around the world having an easier time getting parts for his Subaru versus us getting Saab parts?

Like many people, my first cars were all used and needed periodic repairs and the occasional tow truck.

I’ve since been able to purchase many new vehicles, some of which also required tow trucks even while new, but overall sort of forgot what it’s like to own an older vehicle that might get stuck, at least as far as our daily drivers are concerned.

Sure, I get nervous every time I take our 1978 99 Turbo out on the road that god knows what may go wrong on a car that old and that I’ll be stuck somewhere waiting for a tow, and that parts will be slow to arrive.

It comes with the territory of driving an older vehicle.  However I find myself worrying about our “young” albeit 10 year old Saabs too even though they are running fine.

We don’t want to sell our Saabs nor do we want to buy a backup vehicle (heck there are two, fine, spare Saabs in the garage), but I wonder how common this fear is, at least for now, among Saab owners in a world that may no longer contains easy to obtain parts or a nearby Saab dealer (assuming you also went to a dealer for service like us, rather than to an “Indy” shop (independently owned / not a corporate Saab shop).

Certainly I’ve been reading about such fears for months… make that years, as Saab has seen numerous ups and downs even prior to the December 2011 bankruptcy.  However I wasn’t so worried previously.  I had faith.  I knew we have spare cars, etc.

But now, at least this morning, I’m feeling a sense of concern I hadn’t really felt before.

Well, it is reinforcement to keep our cell phones charged (to call for help) and reassuring that one of my clients runs a 24 hour towing service.  We’ll survive, our Saabs will also hopefully survive, and perhaps I’ll stop worrying.  OK, honestly?  Not likely I’ll stop worrying – it is a life long specialty of mine 😉

Check out Swade’s blog if you haven’t already… it will help (I hope as it helps me) forget about the trivial concerns of life for a bit and make you smile too.

Speaking of smiling, I’m also recalling after purchasing my first Saab, the 1978 99 EMS that I was refused service by the local Saab dealer in Rhode Island.  Why? They were so busy that they only serviced Saabs that they sold to their customers, and I was a new comer to Saab at that time with a used Saab.  My how things changed!  No matter though as I met a fantastic independent Saab mechanic that the dealer referred me to, who handled the dealers “overflow”.

That really does seem strange now though, to think of a Saab dealer turning down work and  I do not blame the dealer or fault them for their policies.  I know, it was a long time ago.  I’m getting old.  Stuff happens, things change.  At least we are still loving and driving Saabs and hope there are new ones again someday even if they aren’t called Saabs.

Leave a Reply

Categories