Posted by: saabnuts | November 15, 2011

Saab 99 Turbo in Forza 4 video game

 

OK, so it’s a 30 plus year old car in this video game, and in real life, but still such a cool machine.  It is fun to see the 99 Turbo from the swooping “camera angles” that a video game can offer, and video game graphics have come a long way since Atari’s “Night Driver” (which I was quite adept at playing and enjoyed before I had a license to drive).  But I digress as I tend to do.

As much as I find myself surprised to watch a video of this car from someone’s game console, it is neat.

More than neat, is actually driving a Saab 99 Turbo and I am extremely thankful we still own one, as is Mrs. Saabnuts.

It is interesting to me to realize while drafting this post that Mrs. Saabnuts drove both our 1993 and 1993 900 Turbos for years.

The 1993 classic 900 Turbo became her daily driver and favorite, though I told her over many years how much fun a Saab 99 is to drive.

Well the 1993 classic Saab 900 Turbo is no longer with us, but when we’ve had to discuss possibly selling some Saabs, Mrs. Saabnuts is quite keen on keeping the old 99 Turbo.

All of my years of ranting about how much fun my first 99 EMS was either biased Mrs. Saabnuts, or it really is just as much fun as I thought to drive a Saab 99!  😉

I think that people like the Saabs United Historic Rally Team may agree with us on the 99 being fun to drive.

Leave a Reply

Categories