Posted by: saabnuts | October 22, 2011

Saab 9-5 review by MotorWeek

 

I’m often reluctant to post reviews of Saab products due to the overwhelming tendencies of some reviewers to use Saab as a pinata or punching bag for their hostilities.

As well I will admit that I am a Saab enthusiast first and no matter how hard I try, I am biased.

The review above from MotorWeek is certainly not the worst I’ve seen and I appreciate MotorWeek doing their version of a review of the new Saab 9-5.

I’d like to use this forum address some of the things stated in the review.

8.2 seconds for 0 to 60 acceleration is slow for a luxury sport sedan?  I must be out of it and too easy to please.  I also appreciate gas mileage more than acceleration these days.  Package this in a safe, fun to drive Saab with plenty of utility, and you have a Saab and a car I’d like to own and drive.

Dated interior?  How about a functional interior?  Compared to the Audi A4 Quattro 2.0 Turbo I drove recently, I would kill for such a clean interior as in this Saab, as well as the more comfortable Saab seats and better ride of a Saab.

All around functional and economical in my opinion should count for more than a cluttered dashboard typically found in other cars.

Hirsch upgrades can easily address power concerns for lead foots, as will the v6 engine option.

Be realistic on the price please, no one is paying sticker price for anything these days including for a Saab.

This was not the worst review I’ve ever seen, but I do not know where the “too many parts from GM” factor in or the dated styling comments.

My advice is to test drive a Saab for yourself and talk to a Saab dealer before you take everything you hear in this review as gospel.

“Affordable regular gas” mentioned in the fuel economy segment of the review… affordable?  I am aware the we Americans pay less for fuel than folks in many other places, but affordable and gas are not words that fit together in my head.

I do thank MotorWeek for this review in spite of my taking issue with some aspects of the piece.

Again, please visit Saab.com to learn more about the new 9-5 and other current models, special offers from Saab or to locate your nearest Saab dealer, and take a test drive.

Leave a Reply

Categories