Posted by: saabnuts | May 6, 2011

Saab “Winning” Video

The video above may seem a little out of character for this Saablog… but made me smile and I hope others find it entertaining.

I REALLY enjoyed this video and loved the combination of images and video familiar to me from so many years of being a Saab enthusiast and surfing the internet for Saab related stuff.

A little background for those unfamiliar with the basis and ingredients for the video; actor Charlie Sheen gave an interview to a tv news reporter that ended up becoming the basis for people making music videos out of his words.

Kurt, who created this video above has the following description in youtube:

  • “This video is dedicated to all of the people who keep the Saab brand and spirit alive. I saw this Charlie Sheen video ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QS0q3mGPGg ) and couldn’t think of anything but Saabs… duh, winning! Epic!”

Excellent work, Kurt! 🙂

Hopefully that is enough for viewers of the video above to understand the soundtrack of the video that Kurt created with some great Saab images and video, as well as sound clips from people including Saab Design Chief, Jason Castriota, and images of Saab CEO Jan Ake Jonsson and acting CEO Victor Muller.

I’ll also mention that Mr. Sheen’s words fit in places to describe Saab or at least how some of us feel about the cars and brand, though the video is enjoyable even with the sound off as well, if the soundtrack is not to your liking. 😉

Thanks to Kurt of Saab99Turbo.com (as well as SAABLime.com) for the excellent work and sharing this video with fellow Saab enthusiasts!  This looks like a ton of work to create this video.

For those not familiar with Mr. Sheen’s words or unable to understand the soundtrack of the video I’ve TRIED to write the lyrics below.  In spite of the fact that Mr. Sheen may well be crazy and making references to drugs, etc. I still think the lyrics are a perfect fit most of the way through the video.

An example of such my interpretation of the lyrics being changed to fit the video “I was banging 7 gram rocks”, while a drug reference from Mr. Sheen, when combined with images of Saabs rallying, makes me think of Saabs on an unpaved track kicking up rocks.

So unlike some folks who may be offended by the lyrics, I think they work wonderfully.

Other lyrics that I think are a perfect fit include:

  • “Your face will melt off” (coupled with the image of a Saab being blasted by a jet.)
  • “You love to party, what’s not love?” (coupled with video of Saabs showing off)
  • “That’s how I party” (with more Saabs showing off their handling.)
  • “I have one gear, GO, epic winning!, Win here, win there, win, win everywhere”
  • “Are you bi-polar? I’m bi-winning” (reminds me of the almost dual personalities of Saabs being suited to everyday driving as well as to having fun not possible in every other brand of car).
  • “Absolute victory” (Saab has survived so much drama over the years and is still in business making some of the finest cars on the planet).
  • “I’m on a quest… we’re gonna win everywhere” (watch out, Saab is alive and coming out with new and even more impressive cars than ever before).
  • “Right every single wrong” (let’s just say that I’m glad Saab is an independent car company once again)
  • “I’m a total frickin rockstar from Mars” (Saabs are out of this world)
  • “Come on bro I’ve got tiger blood, winning!” (coupled with the Saab 900 at what I believe is Pike’s Peak)
  • “Safe as a Volvo, so much cooler than a BMW” (need I say more?) 🙂

Enough of my opinions… here is what I think the lyrics are saying:

“(Jason Castriota): Create bold courageous Saabs with passion, with the innovative spirit and the DNA.

(Charlie Sheen): Ehh.. ya… I… I… I… I’m on a drug called Charlie Sheen
It’s not available, if you try it once you will die
Your face will melt off
And your children will weep over your exploded body (over your exploded body)

You love to party?
What’s not to love?
The run I was on made Jagger and Richards look like
Droopy eyed armless children
That’s how I party
That’s how I party

I was banging 7 gram rocks, that’s how I roll – winning
I have one gear: GO – epic winning
Are you bipolar?
I’m bi-winning
Win here, win there, win win everywhere

Absolute victory
I’m on a quest
We’re gonna win everywhere
Right every single wrong, right every wrong

I’m a total frigging rock star from mars – winning
Come on bro, I got tiger blood – winning
You borrow my brain and you’d be like “DUDE, CAN’T HANDLE IT!”
Win here, win there, win win everywhere

(from a Saab 900 review): Safe as a Volvo, so much cooler than a BMW

(Charlie Sheen): Duh, Winning

I was banging 7 gram rocks, that’s how I roll – winning
I have one gear: GO – epic winning
Are you bipolar?
I’m bi-winning
Win here, win there, win win everywhere

I’m a total frigging rock star from mars – winning
Come on bro, I got tiger blood – winning
If you borrow my brain, you’d be like “DUDE, CAN’T HANDLE IT!”
Win here, win there, win win everywhere

(Jason Castriota): That’s just part of the character of Saab Automobiles, they’ve never been for everybody, nor should they be.”

Leave a Reply

Categories